World Cup 2010, Jules Rimet and World Cup Trophy


The World Cup has seen two trophy designs; the Jules Rimet Trophy and the FIFA World Cup Trophy. The reason why a second one was needed is because the Jules Rimet Trophy was to be kept by the 1970 world champions, which ended up being Brazil. Since then, the current FIFA World Cup Trophy has been awarded to the winning team of the world cup. What you may not know is that there are a few interesting design elements to both.

The Jules Rimet Trophy was designed over 80 years ago and was awarded to the first winners of the world cup in 1930. The design of the trophy features unique materials. The base is made out of lapis, which is a type of stone that is not very common, while the figure and beaker are made out of gold. A picture of the Jules Rimet Trophy can be seen beneath.

The designer of the Jules Rimet Trophy, Abel Lafleur, chose to depict the Greek goddess of victory; Nike. The inspiration for this mythological goddess was based on the sculpture of Nike in the Louvre. The actual manner in which Lafleur designed the goddess and beaker serves a functional aspect. It was designed so that it could be held with ease and not be prone to break. This was done by having Nike stand in an upright position as opposed to an action pose where appendages from the trophy could easily break off. As you may know, the original trophy was stolen and never recovered, but the spirit of the competition it represents lives on.

This spirit is now manifested in the current trophy, namely, the FIFA World Cup Trophy. It was designed by Silvio Gazzaniga and then produced in 1971 in order to be handed out to the world cup champions in 1974. If you did not know what the prize was for, you could always read the base of it where it states “FIFA World Cup.” It is pictured beneath.

As with the Jules Rimet Trophy, the FIFA World Cup Trophy is one big mass. This insures structural rigidity and helps keep it from breaking. Unlike the previous trophy, however, this one will not be kept by a team after any given period of time. Also unlike the Jules Rimet Trophy, the depictions of the two people on the current trophy do not represent specific icons. Another difference is that the base is made out of copper carbonate, but the bust is still made out of solid gold.

Something that the current FIFA World Cup Trophy has that the previous one did not is space underneath the base for the names of the winning teams and the year the won the trophy. The space is limited to 17 championships, so the final space will be filled in 2038. What do you think will happen then: will there be a new trophy, or will they think of some other solution?

More news and updates on this topic will follow soon. To stay up to date, you may:
- revisit our News & Views section,
- follow us @dotkite,
- subscribe to our RSS feed.

posted  Leave a Reply